Destiny 2 Witch Queen Expansion – What to Expect with this Highly-Anticipated Game


Bungie’s Destiny 2 recently received a new expansion and it boasts new content that players should check out. Apart from that, the developers are also removing some existing content in the game. So, if you’re an existing player, a retuning one, or someone who stopped playing the game entirely but is planning to get back into the game, then, we have the details pertaining to the latest expansion for you. So without further ado, feel free to check out the details of Destiny 2 The Witch Queen Expansion below.

Destiny 2 Witch Queen
Image Source: Bungie


All About the Witch Queen Expansion

The Witch Queen Destiny 2 release date was on February 22, 2022, and it’s a major expansion of the iconic FPS game. Revolving around the witch queen Savathûn who happens to be the sister of Oryx (the antagonist of the original Destiny’s first expansion The Taken King). The expansion adds a new location, plot, and missions across the board. On top of that, the game will also add new PVP maps, weapons, gear, and raids. With that said, let’s take a quick overview of some of the notable things included in the highly anticipated long-overdue expansion.

Out with the Old, In with the New

The first thing that we need to look at is the list of the removed items from the game. This is important, especially for those dormant or returning players. Here are some of the things that were removed from the game: Bell of Conquests, Cabal Gold, Cabal Runes, Challenger Medallions, Corrupted Data, Corrupted Key Code, Cryptolith Lure, Decrypted Data, Dreaming Token of Eriviks, Dreaming Token of Querim, Dreaming Token of Xavoth, Ether, Etheric Spiral, Ghost Fragments, Ghost Mods: Arc Analyzer, Solar Analyzer, Void Analyzer, Omni-Telemetry, Banshee Special, Hammer of Proving, Imperial Access Code, Intercepted Distress Signal, Key Code, Lure Mutation Finder, Lure Mods: Prey Mods and Trophy Mods, Mod Components, Parallax Trajectory, Pure Matterglass Lens, Recon Data, Splicer Gauntlet, Strand of Nobility, The Unclaimed Lightbearer, Wanted Bounties/enemies and Weapon Telemetries.

Also, it is recommended that players should stock up on bounties for the next season but remember to avoid those which are disappearing in the next update.

What’s New in Destiny 2: The Witch Queen Expansion?

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen Expansion comes with a ton of new contents under its sleeve. The developers of the game made sure that the long-overdue release of the expansion is worth the wait. After all, with over a million pre-orders, the Witch Queen Expansion is considered the biggest in the history of the game. With that said, let’s take a quick overview of the new things coming to the game.

Weapons & Exotics

As part of the major expansion, Destiny 2: The Witch Queen Expansion will have new weapons and exotics for the player to collect. Both weapons are armors that come with the Caiatl’s Cabal design. In total, there are six exotic weapons and six exotic armors across classes. Add the basic guns and players will have a total of 50 new weapons to look out for. Do take note that all of the weapons in the game were reworked functionalities.
Destiny 2 Witch Queen Weapons & Exotics


New Location

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen Expansion features a new location called the High Coven for the players to explore. For those who may have missed the announcement, The High Coven is the Throne World of Savathun. This means that guardians will venture into the lair of the Witch Queen herself.

The Lucent Brood

With the power of light, the lucent brood is one of the biggest challenges for guardians. Aside from having the ability to wield supers, these beings will keep reviving if you don’t destroy their Hive Ghosts.
Destiny 2 Witch Queen The Lucent Brood


Weapon Crafting

Destiny 2 Witch Queen Expansion will change the way players craft their weapons. Moreover, players will have a refresher course on this feature during the first part of the game. Players will need to craft their weapons in a place called the Enclave to create the weapon of their preference. The fun part is that random drops in the game will begin as soon as you create your first weapon.

Difficulty Mode

Another feature to watch out for in Destiny 2 is the new difficulty mode. It’s iconically known as the Legendary Difficulty mode for those who want a more challenging experience. This mode will restrict respawning and will have scaling difficulty that depends on the number of fireteam members. Apart from that, the enemies on this mode will have the ability to deal more damage to players.

Void 3.0

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen Expansion will also introduce new aspects of the void which will include a stylish executioner (grants invisibility) for Nightstalkers. Furthermore, it will have Truesight when killing an enemy affected with a Void debuff, Shield Toss for Sentinels, overshield, and much more.

Get the Witch Queen Expansion Today!

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen Expansion is now up for grabs on various platforms, including Playstation 5! Grab your copy today and discover other new features that come with this new and enthralling expansion. Stay tuned at PlayPC for more thrilling reviews!